Sometimes There’s a Difference Between Being Hurt and Being Broken

I went to see a movie last night and wasn’t really sure what to expect. I thought the movie had been targeted at a younger audience or families so I wasn’t positive that I would even like it, but I went anyway.

This movie, Dolphin Tale, turned out to be a really great movie. If you haven’t seen any previews for it, it’s about a young boy who doesn’t have very many friends who rescues an injured dolphin. The movie had so many stories and multiple meanings intertwined and I left the movie theater feeling very uplifted and positive. There was a line in the movie that really struck me and got me thinking even more about depression.

In the movie the character played by Morgan Freeman said, “Just because you are hurt doesn’t mean that you are broken.” I sat there for a minute taking in what this meant. So many times people are hurt over and over again to the point that they beging to believe they really are broken, I know I have felt this way in my own life at times. The thing to remember is that we are all given these struggles and trials to overcome and make us stronger.

I spoke with a good friend of mine who had been suffering with depression for many years and she agreed that many times people with depression (or at least herself, anyway) had felt that they were broken when in reality they were simply hurt. Although one often leads into the other, it’s important to know the difference. It’s important to reach out and talk with someone about this; sometimes people who are hurt may feel broken, but it’s not until they say it out loud that they realize they are not.

Leave a Reply

