The News Hits Close to Home

Last week I received the heart-wrenching news that one of my friend’s dads had taken his own life. Upon hearing this news, I broke down. Although many people may wonder why this happened or how, my thoughts went straight to my friend. How was she going to survive this? Did she have unanswered questions? Was she okay? Almost one year ago, I received similar news and it completely changed my life, just as this news will change hers.

I never met her dad or any of her family, for that matter. But last year, as I was going through the loss of my boyfriend, she was there to lend a shoulder to cry on and listened to the stories and memories of my boyfriend for hours. My heart hurt last week when I found out this news, and it still hurts for her and her family today. This is not an experience anyone should ever have to endure, but the reality is that many people are faced with situations like this every day. I know what it feels like to be left behind and I wouldn’t wish that upon anyone.

If you or someone you know are struggling with depression or thoughts of suicide, please talk to someone. Anyone. The awkwardness or scared feelings you might endure while seeking help will pass; the emptiness and feelings of loss for the people you would leave behind will never go away. Try to open up and talk; you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

