Character Flaw or Disease?

addictionAddiction, like mental illness, is a topic that is highly stigmatized. Is it because we’re scared of it? Or because we think addicts are all bad people? Maybe some of them are, but to generalize that all addicts are bad people, would be a mistake. Many people see an addict and blame their actions and decisions on a character flaw, but if we really looked closely, we would see a disease.

I’ll be the first to admit that I know little about addiction. It is such a huge topic to fully wrap my head around that I’ll never know the half of it. But that won’t stop me from trying. I fell in love with a person who was an addict and that was probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Instead of blaming him for his addiction, I blamed myself and other medical issues. But now that years have passed, I can take a step back and understand that his addiction was a disease. And it needed to be treated.

I came across a really great article this morning from a woman who grew up with parents who were addicts. The article goes into detail about the healthcare system and the lack of treatment for addiction. If you’ve got a minute, I recommend giving it a read and maybe next time you come across someone who struggles with this disease, you’ll think a bit differently.

“But, their addiction wasn’t their fault — not just because addiction is a disease, which it is, but because we’ve never treated addiction like a disease, either culturally or in our health care system.”

One thought on “Character Flaw or Disease?

  1. Thank you for the article recommendation. I come from a childhood of trauma, and all three of my younger brothers struggle with addiction and mental illness. And I don’t think they are bad people – I think they are just lost and I think you’re right, it’s stigmatized and misunderstood. They never got the help that they needed, and now one of them is facing life in prison. It’s heartbreaking. Thank you for sharing your story.

Leave a Reply

